• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Kay

Kay

Phi

• Admin
  • 5,993 posts

Posted 14 October 2011 - 05:43 AM

A group of Christadelphians styled as "Watchmen" and discussing various topics - a group of emails compiled early 2010 (several promoting Theistic Evolution), the following statement was made:

"In my professional work as a doctor, I deal with the reality of evolution, from antibiotic resistance through to the deeply flawed human body whose anatomy and physiology is only explicable when seen in the light of its evolutionary origin." Heard personally from a Christadelphian doctor.

The second statement conflicts with the Biblical passages, God's Word, as example Psalm 139:14, the first statement now appears to conflict with the Scientific data, recent research:

Resistance to Antibiotics Is Ancient

ScienceDaily (Sep. 16, 2011) — Scientists were surprised at how fast bacteria developed resistance to the miracle antibiotic drugs when they were developed less than a century ago. Now scientists at McMaster University have found that resistance has been around for at least 30,000 years.

Continued

and in Nature:

Antibiotic resistance is ancient

Vanessa M. D’Costa, Christine E. King, Lindsay Kalan, Mariya Morar, Wilson W. L. Sung, Carsten Schwarz, Duane Froese, Grant Zazula, Fabrice Calmels, Regis Debruyne, G. Brian Golding, Hendrik N. Poinar & Gerard D. Wright

Affiliations Contributions Corresponding authors

Nature 477, 457–461 (22 September 2011) doi:10.1038/nature10388

Received 28 March 2011 Accepted 22 July 2011 Published online 31 August 2011